Der Saus und Braus

Complete Work Title: 

Der Saus und Braus (The Fun-runner) — character study after Elias Canetti

Performance Medium: 

solo piano




for Redi Llupa

Date Composed: 

October 2016 - April 2017

Program Notes: 

Der Saus und Braus (The Fun-runner ) is the sixteenth in a series of short works for solo instrument based upon characters from Der Ohrenzeuge: Fünfzig Charaktere (Earwitness: Fifty Characters), written in 1974 by the Bulgarian-born British-Austrian novelist Elias Canetti (1905-1994). Canetti’s distinctive studies incorporate poetic imagery, singular insights, and unabashed wordplay to create fifty ironic paradigms of human behavior. This collection of works, begun in 1997, was inspired by the vividly surreal depictions of Canetti’s characters and includes works for contrabass, violin, bass flute, ocarina, contrabassoon, glass harmonica, alto saxophone, trumpet, percussion (metal), bass saxophone, piccolo, organ, basset horn, and violoncello. The pitch material in Der Saus und Braus is based on a symmetrical non-octave-repeating scale derived from a recursive <2,1,2,3> interval class set.

Der Saus und Braus was composed in 2017 for pianist Redi Llupa.